Apr. 17, 2024  – As most California employers are now aware, a new workplace violence law (SB 553) requires essentially all CA employers to develop and implement written Workplace Violence Prevention Plans and training by July 1, 2024. The new requirements will be enforced by Cal/OSHA.

Cost  –  There is no cost to attend, but registration is required.

REGISTER HERE

Join us for a two-part webinar series as attorneys from our Workplace Safety team guide you through what is new and how to prepare.

  • Webinar
    10:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. Pacific
    11:30 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. Mountain
    12:30 p.m. to 1:00 p.m. Central
    1:30 p.m. to 2:00 p.m. Eastern
  • Part 1: What Is New?
  • Seyfarth’s workplace safety team will discuss the fundamentals of California’s new workplace violence prevention plan including who is covered, what conduct is regulated, what is required of employers, training requirements, and recording and reporting requirements.
  • Speakers: 
  • Adam R. Young, Partner, Seyfarth Shaw
    Ilana R. Morady, Counsel, Seyfarth Shaw
    Daniel R. Birnbaum, Associate, Seyfarth Shaw

  • Part 2: How to Prepare and Implement
  • Seyfarth’s workplace safety team will discuss strategies and best practices for employers to implement California’s new workplace violence prevention requirements, including how to draft a written program, develop training programs, and ensure accurate recordkeeping. The presentation will also provide tips to balance compliance with the law and administrative practicality. 
  • Speakers: 
  • Patrick D. Joyce, Partner, Seyfarth Shaw
    Ilana R. Morady, Counsel, Seyfarth Shaw
    Daniel R. Birnbaum, Associate, Seyfarth Shaw

Learn more about our Workplace Safety & Environmental practice. 

If you have any questions, please contact Brenda Begini at bbegini@seyfarth.com and reference this event.  

This program is pending CLE approval in CA, IL, and NY. Credit will be applied as requested but cannot be guaranteed for TX, NJ, GA, NC and WA. The following jurisdictions may accept reciprocal credit with our accredited states, and individuals can use the certificate they receive to gain CLE credit therein: AZ, AR, CT, HI and ME. The following jurisdictions do not require CLE, but attendees will receive general certificates of attendance: DC, MA, MD, MI, SD. For all other jurisdictions, a general certificate of attendance and the necessary materials will be issued that can be used for self-application. Please note that attendance must be submitted within 10 business days of the program taking place. CLE decisions are made by each local board and can take up to 12 weeks to process. If you have questions about jurisdictions, please email CLE@seyfarth.com.

Please note that programming under 50 minutes of CLE content is not eligible for credit in NJ, and programming under 60 minutes of CLE content is not eligible for credit in GA. Programs that are not open to the public are not eligible for credit in NC.